

GRANDE SPIRIT FOUNDATION BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES

Hearthstone Manor Friday December 9, 2023

Present: Judy Kokotilo-Bekkerus Town of Beaverlodge

Denise Joudrey Birch Hills County
Alvin Hubert Saddle Hills County
Jonathan Siggelkow Town of Sexsmith

Tony van Rootselaar MD of Spirit River - Virtual

Tanya Skinner Town of Wembley
Tom Burton MD of Greenview

Denise Skoworodko Town of Spirit River - Virtual Karen Rosvold County of Grande Prairie - Virtual

Chris Thiessen City of Grande Prairie

Administration: Steve Madden CAO

Kelsey Edginton Executive Assistant

Hilary Head Administration/Health and Safety

Absent: Joanne Chelick Village of Rycroft

1. CALL TO ORDER

CAO Madden called the meeting to order at 9:34 am

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Addition of Method of Ballots for Voting to agenda

RESOLUTION # 1635 - Moved by D. Joudrey to approve the agenda as amended. CARRIED

3. NEW BUSINESS

RESOLUTION # 1636 – Moved by T. Burton that secret ballots be used for voting, CARRIED

3.1. Board Chair Nomination

D. Joudrey to nominate Judy Kokotilo-Bekkerus as Board Chair.

J. Kokotilo-Bekkerus accepts nomination for Board Chair.

Nominations were called three times.

RESOLUTION # 1637 - Moved by T. Burton to have nominations cease. CARRIED

RESOLUTION # 1638 - Moved by C. Thiessen to elect Judy Kokotilo-Bekkerus as Board Chair. CARRIED

CAO Madden to hand meeting over to Chair Kokotilo-Bekkerus

3.2. Board Vice Chair Nomination

J. Siggelkow to nominate Alvin Hubert as Vice Board Chair.

A. Hubert accepts nomination for Board Vice Chair.

Nominations were called three times.

RESOLUTION # 1639 - Moved by T. Burton to have nominations cease. CARRIED

RESOLUTION # 1640 - Moved by D. Joudrey to elect Alvin Hubert as Board Vice Chair. CARRIED

3.3. Friends of the Foundation Committee Nomination

T. Burton, T. Skinner, J. Chelick, C. Thiessen and D. Joudrey to volunteer for the Friends of the Foundation Committee.

RESOLUTION # 1641 – Moved by A. Hubert to appoint T. Burton, T. Skinner, J. Chelick, C. Thiessen and D. Joudrey to the Friends of the Foundation Committee. CARRIED

3.4. Labour Management Committee Nomination

J. Siggelkow, D. Joudrey, and K. Rosvold to volunteer for the Labour Management Committee.

RESOLUTION # 1642 – Moved by A. Hubert to appoint J. Siggelkow, D. Joudrey, and K. Rosvold to the Labour Management Committee. CARRIED

3.5. Finance Committee Nomination

T. Burton, C. Thiessen, T. Skinner and T. van Rootselaar volunteer for the Finance Committee.

RESOLUTION # 1643 – Moved by C. Thiessen to appoint T. Burton, C. Thiessen, T. Skinner, and T. Van Rootselaar to the Finance Committee. CARRIED

3.6. Building Committee Nomination

J. Siggelkow, A. Hubert, T. van Rootselaar and C. Thiessen to volunteer for the Building Committee.

RESOLUTION # 1644 – Moved by T. Skinner to appoint J. Siggelkow, A. Hubert, T. van Rootselaar, and C. Thiessen to the Building Committee. CARRIED

3.7. Spirit River Grand Opening Committee Nomination

This committee is to help administration with the grand opening celebration for the new Spirit River Lodge. T. Skinner, A. Hubert, D. Skoworodko, T. van Rootselaar, D. Joudrey and J. Chelick volunteer to be on the Grand Opening Committee.

RESOLUTION # 1645 – Moved by T. Burton to appoint T. Skinner, A. Hubert, D. Skoworodko, T. van Rootselaar, D. Joudrey and J. Chelick to the Grand Opening Committee. CARRIED

3.8. 2024 Meeting Dates

September 27, 2024 meeting will be falling on the Alberta Municipalities Fall Convention. The scheduled board meeting will move to September 20, 2024.

The November 27, 2024 meeting will be moved to December 6, 2024.

RESOLUTION # 1646 – Moved by J. Siggelkow to accept the 2024 dates with changes. CARRIED

3.9. Municipal Board Appointments

4. ADJOURNMENT: Adjourned at 10:16 am

Missing a few appointments from member municipalities. Will need to reach out to Town of Sexsmith as the province doesn't allow Housing Management Bodies to have alternates for board members.

RESOLUTION # 1647 – Moved by A. Hubert to approve municipal board appointments with letter going to Town of Sexsmith. CARRIED

Judy Kokotilo-Bekkerus, Board Chair	Date
Steve Madden, General Manager	